2015 Make – Up Favourites

IMG_0377.jpg

Let’s rewind to January 2015. I was quite the make – up… well beauty novice. Prime example being that I used a matte foundation when I have dry skin.

I didn’t use products that would help warm my face and give it that extra umph. It’s so bizarre looking back over the year, I cannot think about commencing with my routine without a highlighter or primer.

I often got told “You look tired” or “Are you ill?” – No, unfortunately I wasn’t aware of what products emphasize my features and qualities.

Let’s get the ball rollin’ and discuss my make-up favourites of 2015.

Tanya Burr Peachy Glow Cheek Palette

I talked about this product in my Top 5 Highlighters For Pale Skin post back in November. I was quite cynical over the idea of the Youtube cult products. Besides the slightly garish and child like packaging this product is the dream 3 in 1 palette. The soft colours are ideal for any pale folk out there. I have to applaud the champagne highlighter as a match made in heaven. There’s enough shimmer without going overboard – there is nothing worse than looking like a disco ball.

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

Easily being enticed by any introductory mascara promotion, I have quite the fair stash of mascaras. My main #goals I want to achieve when applying mascara is length and volume. This often comes with the paradox of the product not actually doing either, but instead leaving your lashes in what can only be described as spider legs.

Due to it’s elongated and curved brush it allows all my lashes to be coated, even those tiny baby ones, well they are baby ones due to a freak incident with some eyelash curlers. It’s not often I say this but you don’t need curlers for this product. No, I’m not just saying this due to the constant backlog of fear of chopping them off again. One swish of the wand (see what I did there) curls them as well.

L’oreal Super Liner Black Lacquer

After watching SunbeamJess ‘s videos in 2015 like there’s no tomorrow I was in definite need of a liquid liner with a shine. I mean yes, I could have purchased the Tom Ford one, but I could also be typing from a cardboard box rather than the comfort of my bed.

L’oreal Liners always win it for me, they are thin and bend with ease. I often find most liner tips are too sturn leading to a less natural and precise line. The relationship between the sponge application and the liquid consistency makes for the perfect catflick… nothing is worse than a dodgy flick!

Kiko Face Skin Glow

Before finding out this product was being discontinued I was using it like there was unlimited water in the Sahara desert. Then imagine the water supply being cut off this is the problem I faced (well on a less severe scale).

This kicked off the bandwagon for my love of glowing skin. A light weight highlighting cream works wonders for a base it absorbs well and gives skin a very subtle glow.

I am currently on my last pumps which I am saving for you know, those “special occasions”.

L’oreal True Match Foundation

This year they changed their formula *Yipeeeeee*. From what I can remember the formula was quite gloopy leaving a matte finish, as you can imagine this came with no positives for my skin. Again, I was tempted in the 3 for 2 offers. *Slap on the wrist*

Now the formula provides a lighter, hydrating base which makes it more adaptable for the day time. The foundation offers a satin finish that leaves a shimmering effect on your skin, nothing to over empowering more of a radiance rather than glow.

Maybelline The Nudes Palette

There are many drugstore dupes of the Naked palette, having said that none of them have been able to hit the spot like the original.

This palette has made into into my favourites at a last minute winner. After forgetting my Naked Palette over the Christmas holidays I had to succumb to a cheaper alternative. This palette has an even amount of shimmer and matte shades which is in definite need when you are decisive like myself and choose your eye make-up look at the last second.

My favourite combination is the gold shimmer shade with the brown to the left of it mixed in the crease. I find the shimmer shades to be more pigmented whereas the matte shades have more of a buttery sheer texture, however I had no issue with this as it mean’t there was enough definition in the crease without it creating a harsh line.

 

GOSH Velvet Touch Lip Liner – Antique Rose 

I admit I was wrong (not something I will happily do often). I came to the assumption that lip liner was one of those products you don’t really need.

After admitting defeat as my lipstick would come off before I left the door I purchased my first one from Mac. However ever I cannot be buying from Mac like the monthly toilet roll purchase. A cheaper alternative are the Gosh liners. The product itself looks exactly the same and I found the formula and application process to be the exact same. So let’s toast to not breaking our bank accounts anytime soon.

Bourjois Pot Blusher – 16 Rose Coup De Foudre

After hearing so much hype over the cream blushers I knew I needed to test it out myself. However I was still apprehensive about any cream cheek product or chubby stick for that matter.

I thought I would play it safe and stick to their powder blushers. Despite it’s matte formula, it doesn’t leave my skin looking dull or flat. It adds a natural flush to the cheeks with a hint of highlight, as there are some gold and champagne notes in the blusher as well. My only criticism is the harshness of the fibres from the compact brush inside!

I hope you all had a lovely New Years! I can’t wait to carry on my blogging journey with A London Lookbook throughout 2016… so crazy saying 2016!

S x

Bloglovin // Instagram // Twitter

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Life, Uncategorized

3 responses to “2015 Make – Up Favourites

  1. I definitely need to try the Maybelline Lash Sensational! My L’Oreal Miss Manga Punky is ending, so I think I’m going to give it a try! I went through so many L’Oreal Super Liner! I love it because it stays on, no matter what! Great post!

    x federica

    Like

    • Yes totally I see so many people in the rain with smudged eyeliner and I’ve never had that problem.. Thankfully! Yes definitely you will love it, now you have tempted me to try the miss manga punky 🙈

      Like

Leave a Reply

