A Visit To The Vogue 100: Century Of Style Exhibit

sss I am someone that doesn’t always abide by the rules; and by that I don’t mean any ground-breaking criminal activity. One being trying to take a photo when it says “no photography allowed.” For once I understood the rule. Why ruin this exhibition for anyone? Why should I ruin the hard work of six years curating the exhibition and the 100 years of Vogue itself?

All I can do is simply recommend to high heavens for you to see this exhibit.

Enough about my guilt ridden tendencies…

This exhibition should be devoured by all. Whether you think fashion is somewhat a mimsy subjective thing and you are oblivious to the fact fashion and filters an element of your day. Otherwise, you may be like myself grace the floors that fashion provides us with daily. You will leave there feeling inspired, enlightened and awakened.

One thought I had when I left the exhibition was…What potential does Vogue have over the next 100 years? It is truly remarkable how they have set the standard and influenced cultural trends and lets face it they set the bar for the “cover girl”.

Over-hearing conversations from ladies, that in a few years myself and Gemma will be saying  “Oh how they remember this” and “how iconic that was at the time” was very refreshing to hear. From girls as young as 12, your average Textiles student saving up their pocket money for the latest issue, The Bible as we know it is more than just a fashion magazine.

You are presented not only with covers and fashion spreads but behind the scenes with animations of “capturing the perfect shot” accompanied with the film stills and factual narration throughout.  I cannot preach enough that Vogue is more than just a magazine. It’s a deluge of fashion, beauty, culture and pioneering photography.

This exhibition highlights and celebrates the icons behinds the lenses like Cecil Beaton, Patrick Demarchelier, David Bailey, Nick Knight, Baron Adolph de Meyer  (one of the first fashion photographers for Vogue) and Irving Penn.

As soon as you enter the doors you are presented a forest of covers, I use the term forest as the numerous covers are branching off each other. The trail continues to  a reverse chronological timeline of the illustrious history  starting with a giant portrait of Alexander McQueen. The reverse chronological order may have some questioning why??! It only makes sense as British Vogue birth was during WW1. Even though it’s an interesting aspect to embody the transformation it would have been quite a bleak way to start the “celebration of the style.”

I have always had an attachment to the “Swinging 60’s” and the “Youthquake movement” from both a fashion and music perspective. It was my favourite part of the exhibit, especially showing the images illustrating the relationship with David Bailey and Jean Shrimpton. If only there was such invention as a time machine, I mean for starters I could go back to the days when Vogue was 30p.

You have till the 22nd of May to catch it at the National Portrait Gallery (buy tickets here) If you don’t have time to go I recommend watching the Private View by Neelam Gill on BBC Iplayer. The exhibition’s next stop is Manchester Art Gallery as of June 24th – 30th October.

Many apologies for my absence I went home for a bit over Easter and been swamped with deadlines, no more excuses now I promise!
Hope you enjoy this sunny week! 
S x

Bloglovin // Instagram // Twitter

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty, Fashion, Life, London, Photography

Leave a Reply

