What LFW SS’17 Taught Us… And How To Find It On The High Street NOW!

A week has passed, a week has passed since my post man was nowhere to be seen with my mass amounts of invitations to LFW.

Non existent invitations more like!

Having said that I have had my time to soak up the glossies and surf the blog-sphere in the venture of finding my favourite trends. I have chosen my three favourite trends from the catwalk and I have picked a few pieces from the high street ready to get your prepped for S/S’17.. Talk about planning ahead!

So ruffles, huge puffy sleeves

ruerryImage- The upcoming

Christopher Bailey started the ball rolling for Burberry with ruffled over-sized shirts, they were seen on both the men and the women; looking to the past as an ode to Virginia Woolf’s OrlandoΒ (with a copy of the novel left on each guest’s seat). Bailey introduced the collection as “a love letter to the past and to English history and a kind of dressing up box to visit and revisit.”

Inspired the silhouettes created on the catwalkΒ  my most recent #ootd on my Instagram shows a chunky belt to cinch in at the waist and creates a more masculine texture with the clash the feminine silhouette. In the winter it would follow with a long line coat (video to come soon!) which would add androgynous vibes this is iconic in reflecting British style for Burberry.

untitled

hmprod

H&M

 

ts16n12igrn_zoom_f_1

Topshop

 

ms28x05snde_zoom_p_1

Miss Selfridge

 

Forget Nightwear, it’s DAYWEAR!

maImage- Imaxtree.com

Surely I was not the only one dreaming and praying for a non uniform day with the theme Β “pyjama days” at school.

As well as Burberry, another designer saluting the trend was Marques Almedia.The mircrotrends within are crushed velvet, lace and silk. The fabrics of the noughties adds quirks to what has transformed the thought of nightwear being playful and innocent, rather than playful and not innocent (if you know what I mean).

The thought of someone knowing I was wearing a lingerie slip dress by “accident”, in an attempt of making a fashion faux pas would have had my anxiety levels sky rocketing. Until, I was scrolling through Instagram where I saw girl wearing a black slip dress from Ann Summers. At first thought my brain could not comprehend and my eyes made the motion of seeing something shocking, but then let’s face it I wouldn’t notice if I saw her walking down the street.

693100_main

River Island

 

j

Ann Summers

 

14440630_1795243190761779_6360287420449489638_n

Zara

 

Leopard has to change its spots

untitledImage: Wonderland Magazine

Like any girl I pay my ode to te beloved leopard print but the recent shift on the catwalk to Zebra print may have converted me. For starters the monochrome colour palette and the diversity in the size / style of the print has won me over. I am currently sitting patiently for a zebra silk blouse to emerge on to the high street and dimish my student loan.

ts10s28kmon_large_f_1

ts32j05kmon_zoom_f_1

(top and bottom) Topshop

 

Thanks for reading. What was your favourite looks and designers from LFW?

S x

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion

Leave a Reply

